Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Doctor In Distress--Seeks Advice From Patients

Doctor In Distress--Seeks Advice From Patients 9 years 4 months ago #1

I am a 39-year-old male Naturopathic Doctor living in Seattle, WA, USA. For the eight-years since graduating I have mostly been teaching (genetics, A&P, microbiology, biochemistry, nutrition, pathology, and pharmacology). In practice, I focused on physical medicine (sports injuries, motor vehicle accidents, etc.) and using diet/nutriceuticals to prevent and reverse illness. I have worked for cutting edge genetic-testing laboratories, microbiology labs, and am now the Research Fellow for an alternative health research foundation in California. Suffice it to say that I strongly prefer my medicine to be evidence-based.

I am not into energy-medicine, homeopathy, muscle testing, or any of the typical woo-woo practices that can plague the naturopathic profession. I have even avoided using most herbal medicines--unless the evidence was solid and overwhelmingly positive. Hormone therapies were always interesting, but the thought of using them seemed too artificial and heavy handed—-until recently anyway.

Recently, I had a VERY stressful year: I survived a serious and highly-toxic house fire 14 months ago, I had to fire (and may end up suing) a criminally-incompetent rebuild contractor, I chose to work on my house myself on a badly sprained ankle for two months nine months ago, and then I fractured my face in three places while playing ultimate frisbee (with residual nerve damage) seven months ago. Career, home, personal belongings and relationships all went topsy-turvy too. Even in the backdrop of my previously very tense/intense life, the last 14 months have been very rough.

I've always been tough to life's twists, but now some important things in me are feeling quite different.