Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: A stressful day ahead for my adrenals:-(

A stressful day ahead for my adrenals:-( 9 years 11 months ago #1

• david
  • EiR Junior
Hi there all
I have recently (through my own research)decided that it must be adrenal fatigue that I've been fighting against for nearly 19 years.
Knowing this, I have an 'unavoidable' extremely stressful day coming up this Sunday.. physically and mentally. Can anyone suggest something specific to take on the day or leading up to it which will help protect my adrenals/ minimise the stress? I'm already taking Nutri Adrenal Extra.
Thanks in advance:)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:A stressful day ahead for my adrenals:-( 9 years 11 months ago #2

• Maff
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 21
Hi David,

Welcome to the forums :)

Although symptoms are a good indicator of adrenal fatigue there is a simple test you can do at home that is relatively inexpensive to confirm the diagnosis. It involves collecting saliva samples at set times throughout the day and then posting them to a lab. The lab then tests the samples for the adrenal hormones cortisol and DHEA. The test is known as the Adrenal Stress Index test.

With regards to your upcoming stressful day there are a number of things that may help. Vitamins C and B5 (pantothenic acid) are vital for healthy adrenal glands and optimal function. Doses of vitamin C of 5g per day from now through Sunday may help. Pantothenic acid doses of 500mg per day are also fine and may be helpful.

More likely to help quickly and noticeably are a group of herbs known as 'adaptogens' with ginseng being a good example. These can help you cope with stress, improve your mood and increase energy levels even when taken once on the stressful day in question. They have a stimulating effect like caffeine but without the side-effects.